Trier on the Moselle

The Moselle rises in the Vosges Mountains in France and flows through France, Luxembourg, and through the German states of Saarland and Rhineland-Palatinate. Typical for the Moselle Valley are the great meanders in the lower reaches, characterized by the sometimes very steep vineyards.

The segment of the Moselle from the German-French-Luxembourg “Three Corners” to the mouth of the Saar at Konz just upriver from Trier is called the Upper Moselle in Germany. The segment from Trier to Pünderich is called the Central Moselle, and the segment between Pünderich and the mouth in Coblenz is called the Lower Moselle or also Terraced Moselle.

Beginning at the “Three Corners,” the Moselle makes up the entire border between Saarland and Luxembourg.

  • in France: Remiremont, Épinal, Toul, Pont-à-Mousson, Metz, Thionville, Cattenom

  • in Luxembourg: Schengen, Remich, Grevenmacher, Wasserbillig

  • in Germany: Perl, Konz, Trier, Schweich, Neumagen-Dhron, Piesport, Bernkastel-Kues, Traben-Trarbach, Zell, Cochem, Treis-Karden, Kobern-Gondorf, Koblenz.

Tel.: +49 (0) 651 82660